35 … today! 

Half a decade into the 30s. Quite a milestone! 

5 years ago, I posted a cute ’30 sucks’ image with lollipops, and I couldn’t have predicted a sweeter decade. 

These past few years have been quite eventful… to say the least! 

I began TEDxLAU five years ago in 2012, when I was 30. And it’s just been one immense journey of self-discovery. 

I got married to my crazy man when I was 33… yep same age as Jesus and proud of it! 

I finally took the step that had been delayed a decade… I started my doctorate at 34, and probably won’t complete it before I’m 40… but that’s another milestone. 

This year, in 2017, I celebrate 10 years of teaching at LAU! The papers I’ve graded! Akh… but the people I’ve met continue to impact my life. 

…and finally… this year, I’m expecting our baby at the age of 35! Something we thought might actually not be in the cards for us… but this decade proved otherwise. 

Not bad for a late bloomer! Many of my own students are checking a lot of these items off their list at an earlier age, as they complete milestone after milestone, but if my example could be of any help, it would be to simply say… there’s time. There’s always time. Even if your path takes you elsewhere at first, even if you stumble, even if you retrace a few steps at times, there’s time. Your goals will be different, and your priorities will change. 

My 30s have been my favorite decade so far… and I’m grateful for every minute! 

Thank you all for being there by my side. 

About Reine Azzi

An instructor who teaches so many different courses at university! Best way to remain passionately challenged! I'm also the licensee, curator, and host of TEDxLAU which adds so much excitement to my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

