2015: Perpetual motion

In 2014, I got a tattoo. It’s a triskelion.
A triskelion or a triskele has come to have myriad meanings, but my favourites are the following: perpetual motion and the complexities of the past, present, and future. Not bad for a tiny tattoo, eh?

I’d been thinking of getting one for years…but it was tough finding a message that truly resonated. Until 2014.

Is it increased self-awareness? Maybe.
It’s taken me years (32 to be exact) to keep finding bits and pieces of myself… but it’ll take me a lifetime more to keep discovering. That’s the awe residing within the human soul…the ability to confront our own demons and our own angels as we inch our way closer … past the illusion of who we are and into the depth that only we can create.

All around me I see those making resolutions and others skeptical of resolutions…but time is only a vessel that we co-inhabit, clinging to dear life as we fear the call to disembark. This perpetual motion can create havoc within our system, causing some of us to almost fall overboard due to sickness while others glorify the movement…embrace the rails… and even scream out an “I’m the king of the world!” (I know… I know… Titanic haters out there, but I couldn’t help it).

2014. I’m grateful.
2015. I’m anxious… but anxiety is a valuable tool these days!
Though I know your waters will be murky at times, I also know you’ve given me a toolkit like no other…. a toolkit that will help guide me ashore.

2015. Be kind.

About Reine Azzi

An instructor who teaches so many different courses at university! Best way to remain passionately challenged! I'm also the licensee, curator, and host of TEDxLAU which adds so much excitement to my life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Purpose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

