Education isn’t a Happy Meal Drive Thru!

Though I still maintain some element of autonomy in my classroom, I dread the day when that will no longer be the case, when we hand out education at a college level as if we’re delivering fast food “happy meals” – quick, easy, relatively cheap, but so bad for everyone involved.

Whenever an administrator mentions the word “uniformity”, my heart skips a beat… is this the beginning of the end? is this the time when I will no longer do things my way? when my classes become a simulated replica of everyone else’s?

I am a fighter, but watching other dedicated teachers, like this one who resigned in the video below, makes me wonder if we’ll have that opportunity to fight in the next few years.

About Reine Azzi

An instructor who teaches so many different courses at university! Best way to remain passionately challenged! I'm also the licensee, curator, and host of TEDxLAU which adds so much excitement to my life!
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

