The Art of Public Speaking: One Essential Ingredient

I’ve taught so many public speaking courses, worked with numerous speakers and speech-writers, and I don’t know why this has only fully dawned on me today. 

Regardless of the amount of work you put into your speech, there is only one ingredient:

Care about the message more than your own personal anxieties. 

Image

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonnygoldstein/3877740779/

 

While speaking, the internal monologue is usually as follows:

– what should I say next?

– will they like me?

– Am I looking ok? 

– Will I forget my next point?

– Will the video work?

– Will people leave during my speech?

– etc…. 

And it is only when you get out of your own head that you can truly connect with the audience. 

How can you do that?? 

Simple. Learn to CARE about your example! Care about your main point! Understand why your audience NEEDS to hear what you have to say. 

Realize that the speech isn’t about you (though it is your time in the spotlight!). Once you get that the speech is about the idea, then you will shine even more…and the spotlight will adore you for it! 

About Reine Azzi

An instructor who teaches so many different courses at university! Best way to remain passionately challenged! I'm also the licensee, curator, and host of TEDxLAU which adds so much excitement to my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Art of Public Speaking: One Essential Ingredient

  1. Pingback: Any Art in Public Speaking? Two Essential Ingredients for a successful orator? | Adonis Diaries

Leave a Reply

