The sweet intoxicating engagement!

Today, we triumphed! 

I may have switched shirts and modes, but worked toward the same exact purpose: engagement. 

I understand why people are afraid of getting engaged sometimes…it’s commitment! and it’s hard work! But my romantic entanglement is even more bittersweet. 

My engagement is with so many people…so many that I have lived and loved only today. 

I’m in love with the nurse who took an hour out of her schedule today simply to walk with us from room to room, introducing us to patients and making our initiative at TEDxLAU so much easier!

I’m in love with the cancer patient, who despite her chemotherapy, and the pain she was in, smiled and humored us as we spread some valentine cheer her way.  

I’m in love with my incredible partners in crime…those young people who preferred to spend valentine’s day cutting up notes, attaching them to flowers, walking around a hospital, driving to all sorts of places! and they were happy. glowing, shining happiness. an unbelievably contagious one! 

I’m also in love with my sisters and brothers in rising. we held hands in a circle and there was a fabulous connection. one that made me feel so powerful that I actually danced in a public square in down town beirut, with not a care in the world. 

With so much love in my life, and so many romantic attachments, how can I not smile? How can I feel anything but hope? 

The future is bright if we make it so. 

The future is positive if we allow love in. 

There are so many people who deserve our time and passion today and everyday. 

Give them that much more…and get engaged. 

p.s. The post above by no means diminishes my love for two incredible people in my life, my mum and my man. oh…and my cat 😀 

 

About Reine Azzi

An instructor who teaches so many different courses at university! Best way to remain passionately challenged! I'm also the licensee, curator, and host of TEDxLAU which adds so much excitement to my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The sweet intoxicating engagement!

  1. Shoug Al-Nafisi says:

    Love you Reine! You’re an inspiration to us all. It’s an honor being part of TEDxLAU and to have danced with you at the souks with everyone rising 🙂

  2. vivian tawk says:

    Hi Reine,I proudly watched you on LBC International Channel though I felt guilty for not joining. It was very nice & you’re so full of energy. Hope it’s contagious and everyone will follow in your footsteps soon. Good luck for more and more!

Leave a Reply

