Nietzsche – the Yes-sayer?!

“I do not want to wage war against what is ugly, I do not want to accuse; I do not even want to accuse those who accuse. Looking away shall be my only negation. And all in all and on the whole: some day I wish only to be a Yes-sayer.” – From The Gay Science

I’ve been meaning to read Beyond Good and Evil for quite some time, but wanted to have the right opportunity to truly savor it. And right from the introduction to the book, it was worth my time!

Nietzsche at one point had contemplated a less critical approach…and fleeting as that thought might have been, it’s still worthy of acknowledging. At some point, it is easier to simply disregard, look away, and just lose hope. Hope that anything can change or that anyone will take notice.

Thankfully, I did not have to endure Nietzsche’s apparent betrayal for long..

“From now on, all my writings are fish-hooks […] If nothing got caught I am not to blame. There were no fish…”

Wonder if the passing of years has allowed more fish to get hooked…or whether they will just keep slipping through the net…

p.s. loving the biblical associations of the fish/net/catch!

About Reine Azzi

An instructor who teaches so many different courses at university! Best way to remain passionately challenged! I'm also the licensee, curator, and host of TEDxLAU which adds so much excitement to my life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Purpose, Rhetoric/Persuasion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

