What on earth am I here for? – a selfishly religious justification

I bought this book, The Purpose Driven Life (Don’t ask me why. Had no idea what I was thinking!), more than a year ago, and I must admit the highly religious tone put me off a bit, which is why it took me so long to get started!

I am spiritual, and I do believe in a “Creator.” Now whether that creator happens to be called “God” or anything else, a “rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” The philosophy behind most religions is what attracts me, rather than specific dogma and unjustifiable rites. My reason for wanting to be a believer is quite selfish. What would life be without such hope? such potential? I wouldn’t want to live a life without magic, driven by fact alone. I selfishly repeat. I need the faith and purity of belief, a belief that does not have to be explained. Does not have to be proven.

As teachers, we spend most of our lives evaluating, grading, judging, and justifying. Hence, I want to do less when it comes to my private life sometimes. I want the innocence of ignorance at times, the purity of unsupported bliss.

Many might not agree with me. This penchant we have for solid proof has become so ingrained within us. Yet persuasion is about so much more than proof, and life can be so much more exciting when there is much left to uncover and explore.

Thus, I’m starting with the self, and I’ve decided to take on this highly religious book and “de-religify” it. As such, I’m taking the liberty of sharing the first question in its original format and its new version.

Original Question to Consider: “In spite of all the advertising around me, how can I remind myself that life is really about living for God, not myself?”

Revised version: In spite of all the advertising around me, how can I remind myself that I do not exist in a vacuum? That my life isn’t just about my personal pleasures and goals, but about living for others, even living for a higher power? Can I deal with not being the “center of my own universe”?

About Reine Azzi

An instructor who teaches so many different courses at university! Best way to remain passionately challenged! I'm also the licensee, curator, and host of TEDxLAU which adds so much excitement to my life!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Purpose and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What on earth am I here for? – a selfishly religious justification

  1. Shoug Al-Nafisi says:

    Well, you can tell us about that. Most of what you do is actually about other people: you teach, you work in groups, you have fun in groups… Almost everything involves other people. What proves it even more is the fact that you enjoy seeing others doing well, and you help whenever you can. The greatest service one can do is share goodness with others be it knowledge, wisdom, love, strength, or happiness.

    • ReineAzzi says:

      Thank you Shoug! That truly should be the work of a teacher. Allowing people to connect and inspire one another. But I must admit that my biggest success has been the tedxlau community, mostly due to you guys! Your potential is only beginning to express itself. And it’s a mutual gameplay. We’re basically feeding off each other, in a non-predatory, constructive way! Let’s hope we can generate even a bigger impact. Baby steps.

    • ReineAzzi says:

      one more thing… do you think such a question is good for TEDxLAU? on our page?

      • Shoug says:

        It would make a great discussion! I’m already on board! And yes, I love how the TEDxLAU community is so vibrant. Let there be more!

      • ReineAzzi says:

        khalas then. start it whenever you feel it’s appropriate. we can generate some sample answers tomorrow at the meeting, and then publish those. other users can add more answers afterward.

  2. Shoug says:

    One more thing. You said that tedxlau is your biggest success. You forgot to say “yet”. 😉 Let this be only the beginning my friend…

Leave a Reply

